RSS

The Parable of the Unforgiving Servant

16 Apr

The moose was leading a youth bible study a few weeks back.  The moose likes examples I wrote a quick skit to play out a modern version of the parable.  They really enjoyed it and we had an incredible talk and lesion.

A couple of people asked me where I downloaded it from.  Since I made it up on the fly I said my brain.  Which was a surprise to everyone.  Not sure if it because they were shocked to know I had a brain.  Anyways, here it is for anyone to use followed by the scripture verse (ESV).


Parody on the Parable of the Unforgiving Servant. Matthew 18:23-35. It takes a few liberties to make it more fun for the audience. Entire scene takes place in an office.  4 Parts – BOSS, SQUEAKY, ALICE, and Security Guard.

(Boss sitting at desk looking at papers.)

BOSS:  Alice tell Squeaky to get in here
SQUEAKY:  Hey Boss whats up?
BOSS:  I was going over the accounts and I see here you owe me $150,000.
SQUEAKY: Really? $150,000? Are you sure?
BOSS: Well, you have quite a few advances. Let’s take a look.
SQUEAKY: Let’s not.
BOSS: Says here your wife needed surgery and you borrowed $10,000. Is she doing ok?
SQUEAKY: Who?
BOSS:  Your wife.
SQUEAKY:  (trying to cover tracks)  Oooh my wife. Yeah she’s fine. The new nose …I mean she’s good.
BOSS:  Next you asked for $50,000 for home repairs.  Says here there was a foul up with your home insurance?
SQUEAKY:  (thinking…) yeah
BOSS:  We were just over at you house. Can’t even tell you had that kind of damage.  Guess it didn’t hit the deck, hot tub and swimming pool – they still look new.
SQUEAKY:  Yeah…got lucky there
BOSS:  $50,000 for car and boat replacement. Same storm?
SQUEAKY:  Storm? Oh yeah – it was bad. Wizard of Oz type of stuff.  We were lucky to get out alive.
BOSS:  A tornado? Hmmm. Thought I would’ve remember a storm that bad on the news.
SQUEAKY:  Yeah the (stumbling) meter-proctologist guy said it was a freak wind burst.  Like a balloon breaking right over my house.
BOSS:  Lastly $40,000 for ….. emotional stress and welfare – this was like a month ago.  Weren’t you in Vegas a month ago for a work assignment?
SQUEAKY:  ummmm.. not sure .. work is so crazy sometimes.
SQUEAKY:  Boss, I really am going to pay it all back.  I have just been dealt a bad hand cards….luck.  I promise I’ll get it to ya. Can I just get more time?

BOSS:  Squeaky, I’ve known you a long time. Not sure what is going on but I know you and your wife are having issues.
SQUEAKY:  I haven’t told anyone about that.
BOSS:  She came across our prayer chain at church.
SQUEAKY:  I just need more time. I’m begging. Can you help me out?
BOSS:  I tell you what … forget all this debt, consider it paid in full.
SQUEAKY:  Wow – are you serious?
BOSS:  It’s mine to write off not yours. I’ve been blessed.  (hurriedly) Hey I got to go – meeting someone at lunch.  I’ll clean all this up when I get back.

SQUEAKY:  Thanks boss (confused and happy as Boss leaves). SWEET!
(enter Alice)
ALICE:  Hey Squeaky. You are in a good mood.
SQUEAKY:  Hey Alice. How are you?
ALICE:  Great.
BOSS:  (Boss walks by to grab his keys on the desk)  Hard to go anywhere without my keys.
SQUEAKY:  Hey Alice couple of weeks ago I loaned you $25 to pay for your daughters last minute field trip.
ALICE:  Oh Yeah – thanks again. Teenagers never tell you in enough time about stuff.  They went to a concert. She loves music. Inspired her to think about it for college.  Although we will never be able to afford it.
SQUEAKY:  You got paid yesterday right?
ALICE:  Yes – just in time. Too many bills.
SQUEAKY:  You gonna pay me back?
ALICE:  Can I get some more time? I haven’t finished paying everything yet.
SQUEAKY:  No. I am going out with the guys tonight and need the money.
ALICE:  Really? Please can I pay you next paycheck?
SQUEAKY:  How about I give you to the end of the day?  That gives you time to go to the ATM.

BOSS:  Squeaky! What are you doing?
SQUEAKY:  Nothing. She owes me money.
BOSS:  Did I not just cancel all your debt?
SQUEAKY:  Yeah. That was awesome by the way.
BOSS:  Can’t you show Alice a bit of mercy?
SQUEAKY:  Sure I could – but they guys….
BOSS:  Alice, call security. We have an employee who has been stealing from the company.

(SECURITY GUARD comes in a take out Squeaky)

SQUEAKY: This isn’t fair! (As they drag him out.)
SECURITY GUARD:  Hush you. By the way. Where is my $5 you owe me?
BOSS:  (Deep breath) Alice, let’s go to lunch.
(As they are leaving)

BOSS:   Rumor has it we just started giving out money for college music students for company employees. If you are interested.


Matthew 18:23-35

English Standard Version (ESV)

23 “Therefore the kingdom of heaven may be compared to a king who wished to settle accounts with his servants.[a] 24 When he began to settle, one was brought to him who owed him ten thousand talents.[b] 25 And since he could not pay, his master ordered him to be sold, with his wife and children and all that he had, and payment to be made. 26 So the servant[c] fell on his knees, imploring him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you everything.’ 27 And out of pity for him, the master of that servant released him and forgave him the debt. 28 But when that same servant went out, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a hundred denarii,[d] and seizing him, he began to choke him, saying, ‘Pay what you owe.’ 29 So his fellow servant fell down and pleaded with him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you.’ 30 He refused and went and put him in prison until he should pay the debt. 31 When his fellow servants saw what had taken place, they were greatly distressed, and they went and reported to their master all that had taken place. 32 Then his master summoned him and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt because you pleaded with me. 33 And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?’ 34 And in anger his master delivered him to the jailers,[e] until he should pay all his debt. 35 So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.”

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
